The remit for the Governing Body is to:

  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.
  • Hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.

Governing Body Composition: All governors with the exception of the Ex-Officio and headteacher are appointed for a 4 year term

Type of Governor  Number
Foundation 7
Headteacher 1
Staff 1
Parent 2
Local Authority 1
Observer 1


 Names of Governors 

Type of Governor Date of Appointment Appointing Body

Mrs Judith Jones




Mr Malcolm Taylor




     Elected by Parish Council

Mr Ian Johnson



     Elected by Parish Council

Mr Malcolm Bold



     Elected by Parish Council

Mr Michael Cornell



     Elected by Parish Council

Dr Emma Khan



     Elected by Parish Council

Rev Jeremy Thomas



     Ex Officio

Mr Maurice Smith



     Elected by Parish Council

Mr Stuart Wade



       Elected by staff

Mrs Carol Whiting

(Vice Chair)



 Nominated by council & appointed by Gov Body
Mr Andrew Blyth Parent 3.2.22    Elected by Parents
Mrs Joanne Casson Parent 3.2.22 Elected by Parents
Claire Fairclough / Louise Blackledge Observer 1/9/21 Elected by Parish Council    


Specific Responsibilities:

SEND Governor Carol Whiting
Data & Standards Carol Whiting
Vulnerable Children Carol Whiting
Link Carol Whiting
Health and Safety Stuart Wade
Admission Forum Malcolm Taylor
Governor Forum Rep Michael Cornall
School Council/Ethos Malcolm Taylor
RE Michael Cornall
Pupil Premium Carol Whiting

Committee Structure – Terms of reference for committees are available on request for school

Finance Learning and Wellbeing Pay Committee
To deal with all matters delegated by the Governing Body regarding finance, personnel and health and safety. To deal with all matters delegated by the Governing Body regarding standards in school and the curriculum To make decisions about performance related pay for teachers
Jeremy Thomas Judith Jones (Vice Chair) Malcolm Taylor
Malcolm Taylor (Chair) Stuart Wade Jeremy Thomas
Judith Jones (Vice Chair) Michael Cornall Malcolm Bold
Ian Johnson Malcolm Bold  
Joanne Casson Carol Whiting (Chair)  
Maurice Smith Andrew Blyth  

Ad-hoc Committees:

  • Staff Disciplinary
  • Pupil Disciplinary
  • Complaints
  • Appeals

Three governors with no prior knowledge will be called alphabetically to form the committee.

Register of Interests

Name Pecunary/Personal Interest
Rev J Thomas St Thomas PCC, Makerfield Community Trust, Linen & Woolen Stock Charity
Mr M Taylor None
Mr S Wade None
Mr M Bold None
Mrs C Whiting Director of Newton Westpark Nursery 
Mrs J Jones None
Mr I Johnson None
Mr M Cornall Hope Church. Association of chartered certified accountants
Dr E Khan None

Attendance Record

 Name of Governor

Dates of Finance Committee Meetings 21/22

  4.11.21 4.11.21 3.2.22 3.2.22 19.5.22 19.5.22
   Yes No Yes No Yes No
 Rev J Thomas   x   x    
 Mr M Taylor x   x      
 Mrs J Jones x   x      
 Mr I Johnson   x x      

Mrs J Casson


Mr M Smith

Name of Governor 

      Dates of Learning and Wellbeing Committee Meetings 21/22

  3.2.22 3.2.22 19.5.22 19.5.22
   Yes No Yes No
Mr M Bold      
Mrs C Whiting x      
Mrs J Jones      
Mr S Wade   x    
Mr A Blyth      
Mr M Cornall x      


Name of Governor          Dates of Full Governing Body Meetings Attended  21/22

  30.9.21 30.9.21    4.11.21 4.11.21 24.3.22  24.3.22 23.6.22 23.6.22
   Yes No Yes No Yes No Yes No
Rev J Thomas      x    x    
Mr M Taylor X   x    X      
Mrs J Jones X   x    X      
Mr S Wade X   x   X      
Mrs C Whiting   X   X      
Mr M Bold X    x      X    
Mr I Johnson X     X      
Mrs K James X     na   na    
Mr M Cornall X   x   x      
Dr E Khan X   x     x    
Mr M Smith         x      
Mrs J Casson         x      
Mr A Blyth         x